Loss Of License

Overview

The administrative suspension of a driver’s license is an entirely separate and equally important matter from criminal charge of DUI or DWI. Your driving privileges can be suspended from a minimum of 30 days up to the rest of your life, depending on your prior history. Requesting an administrative hearing is an extremely time sensitive matter - you will not automatically be given a hearing to contest the suspension of your driving privileges.

You must properly request a hearing including the subpoenaing of the officer within narrow time frame or you will lose your right to a hearing and the opportunity to defend your driving privileges. You have only 10 days to request a license hearing in Kansas and 15 days to request a hearing in Missouri. Failure to properly and timely file for your administrative hearing will result in your license being suspended. Without an experienced DUI attorney, your driver’s license is in peril.

Under certain circumstances in Missouri, you may be eligible for a hardship license.

Contact the Grover Law Firm for a free consultation to discuss how an experienced DUI defense lawyer can help you protect your driver’s license.

Kansas Restristrictions

Test Refusal

  • First Occurrence  – 1 year suspension & 1 year ignition interlock restriction
  • Second Occurence – 1 year suspension & 2 year ignition interlock restriction
  • Third Occurence – 1 year suspension & 3 year ignition interlock restriction
  • Fourth Occurence – 1 year suspension & 4 year ignition interlock restriction

Test Result .08 - .14

  • First Occurence (Over 21) – 30 days suspension & 180 days ignition interlock restriction
  • First Occurrence (Under 21)  – 1 year suspension & 1 year ignition interlock restriction
  • Second Occurence – 1 year suspension & 1 year ignition interlock restriction
  • Third Occurence – 1 year suspension & 2 year ignition interlock restriction
  • Fourth Occurence – 1 year suspension & 3 year ignition interlock restriction
  • Fifth or Subsequent Occurence – 1 year suspension & 10 year ignition interlock restriction

Test Result .15 or Above

  • First Occurrence  – 1 year suspension & 1 year ignition interlock restriction
  • Second Occurence – 1 year suspension & 2 year ignition interlock restriction
  • Third Occurence – 1 year suspension & 3 year ignition interlock restriction

Missouri Restrictions

Test Refusal

  • First Occurrence  – 1 year suspension 
  • Second Occurence – 1 year suspension & ignition interlock must be installed
  • Third Occurence – 1 year suspension & ignition interlock must be installed

Test Result .08 or Above

  • First Occurence – 30 days suspension, 60 day restricted license & ignition interlock possible
  • Second Occurence – 1 year suspension & ignition interlock required
  • Third Occurence – 10 year suspension & ignition interlock required

Free Ticket Quote

If you get a speeding ticket, you are likely to get slapped with a hefty fine, points on your license and a possible increase on your auto insurance premium. Grover Law provides free quotes for traffic tickets.

Get a Free Ticket Quote

Free Case Evaluation

We offer a free case evaluation to help you determine whether a lawsuit should be filed. Any information which you provide to our law firm when completing the online evaluation form is treated as strictly confidential.

Get a Free Case Evaluation

DWI and DUI Attorney

If you’ve been arrested for a DUI (Kansas) or DWI (Missouri), it is in your best interest to contact an experienced DWI or DUI attorney immediately. Being charged with a DUI/DWI can have a severe impact on your life.

Learn More about DWI/DUI