Kansas Criminal Penalties

Kansas DUI Penalties 

First DUI: Classified as a Class B Misdemeanor

  • Jail – Minimum 48 consecutive hours in jail with a maximum of up to six months jail time.
  • Fine – Maximum $1000; Also, court costs and additional court and probation related fees.
  • Probation – A one year probation including a required drug and alcohol evaluation, certain drug, alcohol and lifestyle restrictions and mandatory classes.

Second DUI: Classified as a Class A Misdemeanor

  • Jail – Mandatory minimum underlying sentence is 90 days in jail with a maximum of one year of incarceration.
  • Fine – Maximum $1500; Also, court costs and additional court and probation related fees.
  • Probation – A one year probation including a mandatory five day imprisonment with many lifestyle restrictions, and mandatory classes.

Third and Subsequent DUIs: Classified as a Felony

  • Jail – Mandatory minimum sentence of 90 days in jail with a maximum of one year of incarceration.
  • Fine – Maximum $2500; Also, court costs and additional court and probation related fees.
  • Probation – A one year probation. 

Free Ticket Quote

If you get a speeding ticket, you are likely to get slapped with a hefty fine, points on your license and a possible increase on your auto insurance premium. Grover Law provides free quotes for traffic tickets.

Get a Free Ticket Quote

Free Case Evaluation

We offer a free case evaluation to help you determine whether a lawsuit should be filed. Any information which you provide to our law firm when completing the online evaluation form is treated as strictly confidential.

Get a Free Case Evaluation

DWI and DUI Attorney

If you’ve been arrested for a DUI (Kansas) or DWI (Missouri), it is in your best interest to contact an experienced DWI or DUI attorney immediately. Being charged with a DUI/DWI can have a severe impact on your life.

Learn More about DWI/DUI